Implementation status


ECC/DEC/(17)04 of 30 June 2017 on the harmonised use and exemption from individual licensing of fixed earth stations operating with NGSO FSS satellite systems in the frequency bands 10.70-12.75 GHz and 14.00-14.50 GHz latest updated on 18 November 2022

Implementation Summary
Yes 24
Yes Partly 3
Committed 1
Planned 1
Under study 2
See remarks 0
No 0
No info 15
Country Implementation Status Date Remarks
Albania No info
Andorra No info
Austria Yes 19-08-2020 BGBl. II Nr. 317/2019; EU Notification number 2019/0138/A
Azerbaijan No info
Belgium Yes 05-05-2023
Bosnia and Herzegovina Under study 01-12-2021
Bulgaria Yes 05-11-2021 Implemented by Rules for free use of radio frequency spectrum, published in the Bulgarian Official Gazette No. 92 of November 5, 2021. Fixed earth stations can be used on licence exempt basis. The use of earth stations is permitted only if they operate with an ITU-registered satellite system. The use of earth stations operating under the control of satellite systems that are not registered in the ITU is allowed only when in the process of international coordination Bulgaria has not expressed disagreement with the use of these systems or has given its consent.
Croatia No info
Cyprus Yes 25-01-2022
Czech Republic Yes 26-02-2020 General Authorisation VO-R/1/6.2022-6
Denmark Yes 01-01-2018
Estonia Yes 16-08-2021 Implemented through reference in "The Estonian radio frequency allocation plan"
Finland Yes Partly 09-01-2019 Implemented in the frequency band 14 - 14.25 GHz.
France Yes 05-08-2021 Taken into account when licensing by Arcep
Georgia No info
Germany Yes 02-02-2021 Fixed terminals are exempted from individual licensing when under the control of the satellite network which needs to be individually authorized. Implemented frequency ranges: 10.95-12.75 GHz and 14-14.5 GHz
Greece No info
Hungary Planned 09-03-2023 Version of 2 July 2021 implemented by Decree No. 7/2015 (XI.13.)NMHH on the national frequency allocation and the rules of using frequency bands
Iceland Yes 17-02-2020 Implemented through reference in the National Table of Frequency Allocation
Ireland Yes 01-03-2024
Italy Yes 21-10-2019 implemented by the decree of Ministry of the Economic Development of 5 October 2018 and published in the Italian Official Gazette No. 244 dated 19 October 2018
Latvia Yes 21-03-2019
Liechtenstein No info
Lithuania No info
Luxembourg Yes 19-12-2022 Through references in Luxembourg's national table of frequency allocations.
Malta Yes 22-07-2022 Implemented through Decision No. MCA/D/22-4662.
Moldova Yes 16-11-2023
Monaco No info
Montenegro Yes 21-03-2023 Implemented through reference in the National Frequency Allocation Table and in the Rulebook on radio-frequencies and the condition under they can be used without individual authorisation
Netherlands Committed 10-02-2022
North Macedonia Yes 13-03-2023
Norway No info
Poland Under study 23-08-2018
Portugal Yes 17-03-2021
Romania No info
San Marino No info
Serbia Yes 03-07-2020 Implementation per 3 July 2020 through reference in the national table of frequency allocations
Slovak Republic Yes 11-01-2023
Slovenia Yes 28-02-2018 NTFA
Spain Yes 24-12-2021
Sweden Yes Partly 22-04-2021 Implemented by PTS license exemption regulations. Some deviations relate to max e.i.r.p. and operations in the vicinity of airfields. Designation implemented by the Swedish national frequency allocation table
Switzerland Yes 01-01-2022 Terminals are license exempt on the condition that the terminals are under the control of a network for which a valid spectrum license for the Swiss territory is required.
Türkiye No info
Ukraine No info
United Kingdom Yes Partly 26-11-2021 We authorise fixed terminals in 14 - 14.25 GHz only, under an Earth Station Network licence where individual licensing of terminals is required only in a few number of cases. Attention is drawn to section 6.4 of the Minutes of the 56th ECC Plenary Meeting
Vatican City No info